Song of the Laundry

I have a clothes washer and a dryer in my house now, and this may be the most significant thing that’s happened to me all month.

For the past year, I’ve been taking all of my dirty laundry to my parents’ house, about a twenty-minute drive away.  It’s not been all bad – I get to chat with them for a bit, watch the telly, maybe sneak a yogurt from the refrigerator… but, at the same time, it’s been… I can’t think of the right word.

Dehumanizing?

Not a bit.  Way too strong.

Alienating?

Getting closer, but still wrong…

Whatever.  I’ll think of it.

Anyway, now I’ve got these two machines in my basement – brand new machines, all white and chrome and shiny.  A bit out of place in a dilapidated basement with dripping pipes, crumbling walls, and all-you-can-breathe asbestos just a lick away.

I don’t think I’ve ever felt quite like a neanderthal as I did when I first nervously approached my new machines.  I’ve never had to read a manual to figure out how to use a washer, but it took me some study to figure out how to get the machine started.  I’m still not sure how I’m supposed to clean it without a professional pit team to disassemble the detergent dish.  But the strangest thing of all was when I pressed the on switch for the first time, and a peppy string of tinny notes suddenly played from the machine.

IMG_0660

My washer and dryer sing.  They sing when they turn on.  They sing when they turn off.  They sing when they switch modes, and they sing when I leave them alone for too long with the laundry still inside.

And that’s a wonderful song.  I put the laundry in the machine, I go run an errand, and then, when I come home, I’ve got this choir of appliances singing to me, welcoming me home.  I’ve never felt so liberated, walking into my own home.

Confining?

Yeah, that’s it.  That was the word.

2 thoughts on “Song of the Laundry

  1. I’ve had my washer and dryer for 2 years (after schlepping my laundry to and from my folks’ place for 5). I keep waiting for it to get old, but it never does. Doing laundry in-house is a beautiful, beautiful thing. Congratulations!

    Like

  2. I remember when I bought my first washer and dryer for my first solo apartment (though it was really one half of a duplex, but I digress). It was a very liberating feeling. When I got married, my husband had a house already equipped with a washing and dryer (a GAS dryer no less — heaven!), so we sold my old ones at a yard sale (where we did NOT sell the yard, just household stuff). I was a little sad to see them go, but now I’m already thinking how long it will take us to save up for a front-loading washer. Maybe by our anniversary in 2016…

    Like

Leave a Reply

