Dirty Work

Home ownership comes with a new and frightening sense of responsibility.

For instance, last night, there was a… mishap… with the plumbing. One which soaked the bathroom and the better part of the room beneath it with a foul concoction of toilet water and other unpleasantness.

My roommate, who rents a bedroom from me, and I watched the deluge unfold with a mix of fascination and horror.

“Well,” we said, “we’d better get some chump to clean up this mess.”

Nervous smiles were exchanged as an awkward silence filled the space between, until the horrific realization dawned on me.

“Oh, wait,” I said. “I’m the chump.”

IMG_0705

Leave a Reply

