Ambassador Dating

Guys, dating is hard for me.

I mean, I think it’s hard for most people, but I think it’s harder for me than it is for them.

There are girls out there – wonderful, smart, beautiful girls – who have given me their phone number of their own free will and volition, and I have yet to call them.

Call it anxiety, or call it cowardice, it’s an inhibition.

Sometimes, when I DO manage to work up the nerve to ask a girl out after nearly eight (8) months of psyching myself, I feel like my goal for the evening isn’t even to score a love connection, since that’s probably too much to hope for.

The goal is just to make a good impression.

I think that, if I can show a girl a good time, she’ll go out and tell her friends, “You know, that nervous, shy guy with the beard?  Kinda nice, and hardly sketchy at all.”

That way, the NEXT time I ask a girl out, it may only take seven months.

4 thoughts on “Ambassador Dating

  1. You are not sketchy. A sketcher, but NOT sketchy. The only way you get better at stuffs is to practice. Consistently. And if a girl has put herself out there and given you her number it’s a SUPER jerk move not to use it. Just saying.

    Like

  2. I don’t think I ever would have called you shy or nervous in the setting in which I got to know you. Introspective, yes, but you always have a great banter waiting to happen, a snarky comment to make, or a quietly reflective observation to be shared. There is some quality about you that makes girls want to harass you…I can’t put my finger on it. I just remember the hours and hours of joy I had plotting the next way to tease you/the process of teasing you. Maybe you play the male version of “hard to get” and that’s why you don’t use those phone numbers? I always say, the worst that can happen on a bad date is a REALLY good story to tell for the rest of your life. Go for it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

