The Shrine in the Park

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything: partly because life has just been super busy, and partly because I’ve spent all my free time working on this: 

 

Potentially the most detailed picture I have ever drawn. 

There’s a place in Salt Lake City called Memory Grove, a tiny little park just outside the city center that sits in front of a surprisingly green and serene nature trail. It’s one of my favorite places in the city, and one of Salt Lake’s best-kept secrets, as far as I’m concerned.

Other than the sound of a running creek, or the smell of green leaves in the springtime, my favorite thing about Memory Grove is the sheer number of little monuments you come across as you walk through the trails, little memorials to events that you had no idea were at all connected to Salt Lake City. It’s strange that a place could make you feel so isolated and yet so connected to the world at large.

This is not what Memory Grove looks like, but it’s kind of how the place makes me feel.

Leave a Reply

