A Man of Ambition

I consider myself to be someone with a lot of good ideas and a stunted work ethic.

Wait. That’s not quite fair.

I work very hard at a lot of different things. I have a pretty demanding job, which regularly requires me to work more than the forty hours I get paid for. I have a lot of responsibilities in my community. I put a lot of work into maintaining and keeping my house.

All of these responsibilities keep me from the thing I really want to do with my life.

I am that guy who, if you ask him at a party about the book he wants to write, will hold you captive for hours. I doodle and draw so much because I have so many ideas for pictures and scenes and stories that I have to get them out there somehow. I just… spend so much time wrapped up in what I’m supposed to do that I can’t dedicate the time I need to what I want to do.

All I want to do is create.

Unfortunately, the time I have to create is also time that I need to use on sweeping the floor, cleaning the bathroom, or mowing the lawn. I have to maintain social connections, spend time with friends, help my neighbors move. Even eating and grooming take a lot of time out of my schedule – a good-looking beard takes a bit of work to maintain.

This, I think, is why I like cooking so much. There’s an act of creation – the assembling of disparate ingredients into a unified whole – that also satisfies a basic biological function. Food is life, and cooking is creation; therefore, cooking is creating life.

Besides, how can any day where you make ice cream be considered a failure?
 
A_Man_of_Ambition

One thought on “A Man of Ambition

Leave a Reply

